From left:  Jeffrey Feltman, Undersecretary-General for Political Affairs with honoree Angélique Kidjo and Hervé Ladsous, U.N. Undersecretary-General for Peacekeeping


From left: Navi Pillay receiving the Inspiration Award by Evelyn Leopold, Fund chair


Fund board member Sherwyn Bryce- Pease of South Africa Broadcasting with honoree Navi Pillay


From left:  Alufemi Akanda (Nigeria), Abdel Aziz Hali (Tunisia), Navi Pillay, recipient of the Inspiration Award, Ana Maria Macaraig (the Philippines), and Tuan Anh Pham (Vietnam)


Evelyn Leopold, Fund chair (on left) and Margaret Besheer, vice chair (center), presenting the Chair Citation to Angelique Kidjo


Adbulmohsen F.A. Aylas, Deputy Permanent Representative of UN Mission of Saudi Arabia, with guest


On right, Robert Miller of the Hurford Foundation with Gloria S. Neuwirth of Davidson, Dawson & Clark


Fund vice chair Margaret Besheer (left) with Iona Thomas, press counsellor, UN Mission of the United Kingdom


From left:  William Reilly, Xinhua News Agency, Warren Hoge, VP International Peace Institute, and Ambassador of Canada Guillermo Rishchynski


Fund treasurer Seana Magee of Kyodo News (left) with Ambassador of Panama Laura Flores


Fund chair Evelyn Leopold presenting the Inspiration Award to Madeleine Albright


Dr. Albright with 2013 fellows – from left Leda Balbino, Gulsin Harman, Rose Wangui, and Maria Kamal


Dr. Madeleine Albright, recipient of 2013 Inspiration Award


Evelyn Leopold, chair of the Fund


Secretary-General Ban ki-Moon: Evelyn Leopold;  Rosemary DiCarlo, Dep. U.S. Ambassador to U.N.; and Tina Brown


Amb. Jan Eliasson, Deputy Secretary-General, with Dr. Madeleine Albright


Tina Brown, formerly of The Daily Beast, founder of Tina Brown Live Media; Secretary-General Ban ki-Moon; Pamela Falk, CBS News, Pres. of U.N. Correspondents Assoc.


Margaret Besheer, Voice of America and vice chair of the Fund


Amb. Grunditz of Sweden with Angela Kane, U.N. High Representative for Disarmament Affairs


Evelyn Leopold, Fund chair, with Kendall March


Seana Magee of Kyodo News and Fund treasurer presenting Dr. Jeffrey Sachs with the Dag Hammarskjöld Inspiration Award


2012 fellows: From left, Shameer Rasooldeen, Asma Ghribi, Javier Borelli and Wade Williams


From left 2010 fellows Melini Moses, Nadia Zibilila, Nicholas Kristoff of the New York Times and recipient of Chair Citation, and Débora Dongo-Soria


2011 fellowship recipients with Queen Noor. From left standing: Kirubel Tadesse, Kingsley Amayo, Kunzhe Liu and Altamash Hashmi


Edith Lederer, AP; Talal Al-Haj, Al-Arabiya TV; Mia Farrow: Seana Magee, Kyodo News; Evelyn Leopold; Queen Noor and Margaret Besheer


Mia Farrow, UNICEF goodwill ambassador and human rights activist, recipient of 2011 Inspiration Award 


Queen Noor with Margaret Besheer of Voice of America and Fund vice-chair, 2012 annual luncheon


Queen Noor at left receiving Inspiration Award from Evelyn Leopold, chair of the Fund, 2012 annual luncheon


Michelle Bachelet, then undersecretary-general, U.N.-Women, with interim U.S. Ambassador Rosemary DiCarlo, at 2012 annual luncheon


Jim Wurst, U.N. correspondent, and Peggy Kerry of the U.S. Mission to the U.N.


2011 fellowship recipients with Mia Farrow and Evelyn Leopold. From left standing: Altamash Hashmi, Kingsley Amayo, Evelyn Leopold, Kunzhe Liu and Kirubel Tadesse with Mia Farrow


Bob Woodruff of ABC News receiving the Chair Citation from Maggie Farley, then of the Los Angles Times, 2007 annual luncheon


From left 2010 fellows Débora Dongo-Soria, Evelyn Leopold, chair of the Fund, Mahesh Acharya and Melini Moses


On left Helen Bamber, president of the Bamber Foundation, receiving the Inspiration Award from Evelyn Leopold, chair of the Fund, at the 2009 luncheon


From left: Edith Lederer, Associated Press; Emma Thompson, Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, and Ann Veneman (then UNICEF Director), 2009 annual luncheon


Secretary-General Ban Ki-Moon speaking with actor and anti-trafficking activist Emma Thompson at the 2009 annual luncheon


From left to right 2008 fellows Grevazio Zulu, Ebtihal Mubarek, Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon Patricia Caycho and Erik Kabendera


The Hon. Timothy Wirth, president of the United Nations Foundation/Better World Fund, recipient of the 2008 Dag Hammarskjöld Inspiration Award


From left, 2007 fellows Benson Amallo (Kenya), Marie Jose Borges (Uruguay), Sir Roger Moore, Agnes Asiimwe (Uganda) and Lady Kristina Moore, 2007 annual luncheon


On right Queen Rania of Jordan congratulating 2007 fellow Agnes Asiimwe of Uganda


Sir Roger Moore, recipient of 2007 Dag Hammarskjöld Inspiration Award, with Evelyn Leopold,chair of the Fund

Frontpage Slideshow | Copyright © 2006-2011 JoomlaWorks Ltd.


The Dag Hammarskjöld Fund for Journalists,
a living memorial to the legacy of the second
Secretary-General of the United Nation, is
dedicated to the advancement of a fuller
understanding of the deliberations of the
United Nations as it seeks to alleviate
human suffering and further world peace.

Dag Hammarskjöld Inspiration Award

The Board of Directors established the Inspiration Award in 2006 to honor Dag Hammarskjöld – one of the most esteemed international civic servants of the 20th Century whose personal beliefs, cultural interests and leadership skills have served as an inspiration to many.

Hammarskjöld was a remarkable man who lived a remarkable life and left a lasting legacy.  As second Secretary-General of the United Nations he guided this august body into an international force for peace, justice and progress.

Hammarskjöld combined intellectual, spiritual and aesthetic interests with the political in his public life.  He put the secretary-general’s office on the map as a major player in world affairs and dangerous times during the Cold War.  He devised the United Nations first complex peacekeeping mission.  It was that commitment that led him to the Congo in September 1961 and to a final rendezvous with destiny.


Inspiration Award Recipients

2006 - Ambassador Jan Eliasson, a life-long diplomat, former Foreign Minister of Sweden and former Ambassador to the United States and United Nations; now U.N. Deputy Secretary-General.

2007 - Sir Roger Moore, a dedicated UNICEF Goodwill Ambassador for over 20 years. 

2008 - Senator Timothy Wirth, President of the United Nations Foundation/Better World Fund and lifelong environmentalist.

2009 - Actress Emma Thompson  and Helen Bamber of the Bamber Foundation for their work on behalf of victims of torture and trafficking.

2010 - Sir Brian Urquhart, former U.N. under-secretary general, author and contemporary of Dag Hammarskjöld, for his decades of service and recognition as the father of modern U.N. peacekeeping.

2011 - Her Majesty Queen Noor, activist for world peace and justice.  Her peace-building work on conflict prevention and recovery issues has focused on the Middle East, the Balkans, Central and Southeast Asia, Latin America and Africa.

 2011 -  Actress Mia Farrow, UNICEF goodwill ambassador and human rights activist who has focused her attention on children and families in conflict zones, particularly in sub-Saharan Africa.

2012 - Dr. Jeffrey D. Sachs, Director, The Earth Institute, and an expert on economic development, the fight against poverty and the environment.

2013 - Dr. Madeleine K. Albright, former U.S. Secretary of State, for her many years of service and leadership in international affairs and championing women's issues.

2014 - Ms. Navi Pillay, former UN High Commissioner for Human Rights (2008-14) for her championship of human rights around the globe, speaking truth to power and never shying away from controversy.